A Place of Exploration, Discovery, and Imagination

With degrees offered in nearly 40 undergraduate fields, 17 master’s programs, and 8 doctoral programs, the Faculty of Arts and Sciences at Rutgers–Newark provides opportunities for academic exploration in a wide range of studies.

From its founding as Dana College in 1930 to its current status as the second largest unit in all of Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, Arts and Sciences has been serving Newark and the region for more than eighty years.  The Faculty of Arts and Sciences–Newark now serves:

  • The Newark College of Arts and Sciences (NCAS), the largest of the seven schools on campus, which enrolls more than 60 percent of the undergraduates at Rutgers–Newark;
  • University CollegeNewark (UCN), which allows adult and nontraditional students to attend classes on evenings or weekends;
  • Graduate SchoolNewark, which serves graduate students at the master's or doctoral level in 19 disciplines; and
  • The Honors College, which offers enrichment opportunities in all disciplines for those undergraduates ready for the most challenging curricula in the university.

With nearly 2,000 classes offered every year in subjects ranging from studio art to neuroscience, Arts and Sciences has something for everyone.  Join us in discovering your passions and stretching the boundaries of your imagination.